मंगलबार, साउन ३१, २०७९

11 including Nepal expelled from UML

मेरोन्यूज २०७८ जेठ १० गते २०:३५

Kathmandu : The ruling CPN-UML has decided to expel 11 leaders and outgoing Members of Parliament from the party general membership.

The action was taken after the clarification sought over their decision to sign in favour of opposition party, NC leader Sher Bahadur Deuba to form a new government did not receive a satisfactory response.

The 11 leaders expelled today by standing committee meeting include Madhav Kumar Nepal, Jhalanath Khanal, Bhim Rawal, Mukunda Neupane, Ram Kumari Jhankri, Sarala Yadav, Puspa Kumari Karna, Kalila Khan, Niradevi Jairu, Laxmi Kumari Chaudhary and Kalyani Kumari Khadka.

They were penalized after failing to give satisfactory clarification over the charge of acting against the party, said UML publicity department deputy Chief Surya Thapa.

It may be noted that the suspension on four leaders including Nepal was withdrawn recently after a task force was formed to resolve the differences inside the party.


The standing committee held at the Prime Minister’s official residence in Baluwatar also decided to seek clarification from 12 more leaders including Ghanashyam Bhusal and Surendra Pandey.

The outgoing MPs had also signed in favour of Sher Bahadur Deuba’s claim to form a government as per Article 76 (5) of the Constitution on May 21.

Likewise, the meeting chaired by UML chair and Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli decided to withdraw the party’s support to the government led by Chief Minister Trilochan Bhatta in Sudur Paschim province and to withdraw its ministers from the provincial cabinet.